Alina Cojocaru and Steven McRae
© ROH/ Tristram Kenton

< back to Ashton Ballets

Tiresias (1951)

A Ballet in three scenes by Constant Lambert

M Music by
S Scenery by
C Costumes by
D Danced by
FP First performance
NP New production
R Reproduced by
ST Staging (indicates that the ballet was produced in substantially its original form)

M Constant Lambert, partly orchestrated by Robert Irving, Christian Darnton, Humphrey Searle, Denis ApIvor, Gordon Jacob, Alan Rawsthorne and Elisabeth Lutyens
Curtain SC Isabel Lambert

D Tiresias (male): Michael Somes; Neophyte: Margaret Dale; Snakes: Pauline Clayden, Brian Shaw; Tiresias (female): Margot Fonteyn; Her Lover: John Field; Zeus: Alfred Rodrigues; Hera: Gerd Larsen; Athletes, Warriors, Priestesses, Shepherdesses, Shepherds: corps de ballet
FP Sadler's Wells Ballet, Royal Opera House, London, 9 July 1951
Revised version, 26 February 1952