Alina Cojocaru and Steven McRae
© ROH/ Tristram Kenton

< back to Ashton Ballets

(The Fairy Queen) (1927)

Opera by Henry Purcell (1692), based on A Midsummer Night's Dream by William Shakespeare, adapted by Elkanah Settle
Produced by Dennis Arundell

Dances by Marie Rambert and Frederick Ashton

M Music by
S Scenery by
C Costumes by
D Danced by
FP First performance
NP New production
R Reproduced by
ST Staging (indicates that the ballet was produced in substantially its original form)

C Tom Heslewood Ltd, Ronald Nicholson, and Mrs Cockerell, under the direction of Lucia Young

D Dance of Fairies: Andrée Howard, Eirene Garratt, Kathleen O'Connor, Prudence Hyman, Pearl Argyle, Joyce Peters
Echo Dance: Diana Gould, Maude Lloyd
Dance of the Followers of Night: Winifred Baker, Kathleen O'Connor, Eirene Garratt, Pearl Argyle
Three Swans: Doola Baker, Maude Lloyd, Violet Reynolds
Dance of Haymakers: Norah Greenfield, Ursula Humphrey, Muriel Horsey, Marjorie Kempe, A F Adkins, G G Beamish, J A W Gibson, W B R Mumford
Attendants on Spring: Diana Gould, Maude Lloyd
Attendants on Summer: Pearl Argyle, Andrée Howard
Attendants on Autumn: Doola Baker, Eirene Garatt
Attendants on Winter: G G Beamish, Frederick Kempe
Dance of Chinese: (cast not listed in programme)
Dance of Monkeys: William Chappell, Kathleen O'Connor, Joyce Peters
Chaconne: Doola Baker, Maude Lloyd, Andrée Howard, Pearl Argyle
FP Purcell Opera Society and Cambridge Amateur Dramatic Society, Rudolf Steiner Hall, London, 23 June 1927

ST Natural Amphitheatre, Hyde Park, London, 25 June 1927

NP Pupils of Marie Rambert; two dances only
Flight of Swans: D Diana Gould, Pearl Argyle, Andrée Howard
Followers of Night: D Diana Gould, Andrée Howard, Elizabeth Millar, Pearl Argyle
FP Arts Theatre Club, London, 9 March 1928

(Flight of Swans was also included in the divertissements by the Marie Rambert Dancers at the Lyric Theatre, Hammersmith, 25 February 1930)

See 1946, The Fairy Queen